Check for a directory using report services / c# / vb.net or T-SQL (Need help)

Who is online?  0 guests and 0 members
Home  »  Forums   »  microsoft business intelligence   »  reporting services   » Check for a directory using report services / c# / vb.net or T-SQL (Need help)

Check for a directory using report services / c# / vb.net or T-SQL (Need help)

Topic RSS Feed

Posts under the topic: Check for a directory using report services / c# / vb.net or T-SQL (Need help)

Posted: 10/5/2010

Padawan 150  points  Padawan
  • Joined on: 10/5/2010

Hi, I am new in Report Services I am working on a project and I am stocked for couple of days and can’t find solution.  I just need to be able to check if a directory (based on user and it’s LDAP group) exist or not.  I have used T-SQL, used VB.NET code inside report properties and also used C# class library and none worked.

All will return 0 or false.  I will be happy to provide code for each one of these if needed. 

Any help greatly appreciated

Thank you

IA

Posted: 10/6/2010

Jedi Master 5644  points  Jedi Master
  • Joined on: 1/21/2010
Answered  Answered

IA,

I figured a blog would be more suitable for answering this forum. So, I wrote one. :)  

http://www.bidn.com/blogs/briankmcdonald/bidn-blog/1143/determine-if-directory-exists-using-xp_cmdshell

Without knowing exactly how you are going to use this and your SQL Server configuration and setup, I personally would use this example inside of a stored procedure. Then call this stored procedure from your application or report.

I hope this helps,

Brian

Jedi Master 5644  points  Jedi Master
  • Joined on: 1/21/2010
Answered  Answered

IA, Did this help you?

Padawan 150  points  Padawan
  • Joined on: 10/5/2010
Answered  Answered

Hello Brian,